How Will A Conviction For A DWI Affect Your Driver’s License?
A charge for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Ouachita Parish will bring with it many consequences. The first of these many people think of is jail time and the high fines associated with a DWI conviction. However, another penalty that many people do not consider is the fact that they will lose their driver’s license, at least temporarily. The amount of time you will lose your license for though, depends on the type of DWI you are charged with. Below, our Ouachita Parish DWI lawyer outlines the driver’s license suspensions a person may face.
First and Multiple Offenses
After being charged with a DWI in Louisiana, your driver’s license is immediately suspended. You do have 30days from your arrest to request a hearing to get it back and if you do not, you will face a lengthy license suspension.
If this is your first DWI offense, you will lose your driver’s license for one year. A second DWI offense will result in a loss of your driver’s license for two years and a third offense will result in a suspension of three years or 1,095 days.
DWI with an Elevated Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
Just like in most other states, it is illegal to drive in Louisiana with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. However, if you are charged with a DWI with an elevated BAC, the suspension of your driver’s license will be much longer than it would otherwise. If you are charged with a DWI with an elevated BAC, and it is your first offense, you will lose your license for two years, or 730 days. If it is a second offense of driving with an elevated BAC, your driver’s license will be suspended for four years or 1,460 days.
Driver’s License Suspensions for Minors
In Louisiana, as in every other state, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to consume or purchase alcohol. Individuals under this age are also held to a much stricter standard when they are behind the wheel. People who are under the age of 21 will not only likely be charged with underage drinking, but they will also lose their driver’s license for one year.
How to Get Your License Back
After an arrest, you have 30 days to request an administrative hearing with the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) in which you may be able to get your driver’s license back. If you do not get your license back after this hearing, you will have to wait until the suspension period is over. Even at that time, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee to get your license back.
If it is your first offense, you will have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee. The fee increases to $200 for a second offense and $300 for a third offense. Underage drivers charged with a DWI must pay a $60 reinstatement fee to get their license back.
Our DWI Lawyer in Ouachita Parish Can Help You Get Your License Back
If you have been charged with a DWI, our Monroe DWI & DUI lawyer at Whiddon Criminal Defense can help you avoid the penalties you will face. We will guide you through the administrative hearing so you can get your driver’s license back, and help you avoid the criminal consequences that accompany these charges, too. Call us today at 318-387-2776 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.