How Will A DUI Affect Your Auto Insurance?
Being convicted of driving under the influence will have many harsh consequences. You will have to pay high fines, have your driver’s license suspended, and you may even face jail time. In some cases, you may also have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. Another consequence of a DUI conviction is the impact it will have on your auto insurance. If you have been convicted or are facing charges, below is some important information you need to know.
SR-22 Driver’s Licenses
An SR-22 driver’s license is a certificate showing your financial accountability to pay for auto insurance. In the vast majority of DUI cases in Monroe and Louisiana, the accused immediately has their driver’s license suspended. If you want to drive after a DUI charge, you can obtain an SR-22 driver’s license from the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (LOMV).
Your insurance company will learn of any DUI conviction. Once they do, they will likely want to revoke your coverage, or change the policy. Most insurance companies will require drivers to obtain an SR-22 driver’s license to continue coverage. While insurers will still usually cover drivers with an SR-22 license, they will also charge a much higher premium.
Duration of SR-22 Driver’s Licenses
The duration of your SR-22 driver’s license will depend on the facts of your DUI case. Typically, drivers must carry this type of license for three years. If at any time you do not pay for your auto insurance company, your insurer is required to notify the LOMV of the missed payment. At that time, the LOMV may revoke your SR-22 license. Although most people convicted of a DUI will have to carry an SR-22 license for three years, there are some exceptions. These are as follows:
- Six months: Certain first-time offenders are only required to carry an SR-22 license for a maximum of six months.
- Nine months: In some cases, a person’s driver’s license may be suspended for nine months. These instances include when a DUI caused bodily injury or property damage, there were aggravating circumstances surrounding the stop, or the driver’s blood alcohol level was greater than 0.15 percent.
- One year or more: Drivers can have their license suspended for one year or more if their blood alcohol level at the time of arrest was greater than 0.20 percent. These motorists are also usually required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles, which prevents the car from starting when it detects alcohol on the driver’s breath.
Auto Insurance Premiums After a DUI Conviction
A DUI conviction will wreak havoc on your driving record. One of the harshest consequences is that your insurance company is legally allowed to increase your premiums after a conviction. Those increases are significant and can be as high as 48 percent the original premium price.
Our DUI Lawyer in Monroe Can Help You Beat Your Charges
A DUI conviction will come with many consequences. The best way to avoid them is to speak to our Monroe DUI lawyer at Whiddon Criminal Defense. Our skilled attorney will review the facts of your case, determine which defense will work best, and use it to create a solid defense that will help you beat your charges. Call us now at 318-387-2776 or reach out to us online to schedule a free consultation.