What Are The Penalties For Marijuana Possession In Ouachita Parish?
Under federal law, marijuana is classified as a Schedule 1 drug. This is also the case in Ouachita Parish and throughout Louisiana. However, in the Bayou State, marijuana is also in its own category. Here, marijuana is classified as a Schedule I drug, but other Schedule 1 substances are categorized separately. Below, our Monroe drug crime lawyer explains the law on marijuana possession and the penalties you may face if you are convicted.
The Law on Marijuana Possession in Ouachita Parish
Although several states throughout the country have legalized the possession of marijuana for recreational use, Louisiana has not yet done so. It is still illegal for any person to possess any amount of marijuana in Ouachita Parish and throughout the state. The only exception to this is when a person has received a medical marijuana card from their physician.
Louisiana has some of the harshest marijuana laws in the country. Unlike other states, which have not legalized recreational marijuana but have decriminalized the charge, you may face jail time even after a first offense of marijuana possession.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Ouachita Parish
The penalties for marijuana possession are serious and will also vary depending on the facts of your case. Due to the fact that possession is a non-violent crime, the factor that will most impact your case is the amount of marijuana you are arrested with and whether you have a previous offense on your record. The penalties you may face include the following:
- Penalties for a first offense of marijuana possession: If you are accused of having 14 grams or less of marijuana in your possession, you will only receive a $100 fine. However, the conviction will still appear on your criminal record. If you are accused of having more than 14 grams in your possession, you will face up to six months in jail and a $500 fine.
- Penalties for a second offense of marijuana possession: Regardless of the amount of marijuana you are accused of possessing, you will face up to six months in jail and a maximum $1,000 fine if you are convicted a second time.
- Penalties for a third offense of marijuana possession: A third conviction of marijuana possession can result in up to two years in prison and a maximum fine of $2,500.
- Penalties for a fourth offense of marijuana possession: If you are convicted of marijuana possession a fourth time, the offense is no longer classified as a misdemeanor. A fourth conviction is considered a felony and is punishable by up to eight years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Our Drug Crime Lawyer in Ouachita Parish Can Help You Beat Your Charges
If you have been charged with marijuana possession, you should not take the situation lightly, particularly if you already have a conviction on your record. At Whiddon Criminal Defense, our Ouachita Parish drug crime lawyer can help you beat your charges and keep your criminal record clean. Call us now at 318-387-2776 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.