Can I Challenge a DWI Charge in Louisiana? Possible Defenses and Legal Strategies

Latest News

What Are Louisiana Laws Regarding Driving While Intoxicated?

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol puts drivers and pedestrians at serious risk, leading many states to enforce harsh penalties for intoxicated driving. Louisiana is no exception, with laws requiring hefty fines and lengthy jail time if a driver is convicted of DWI. A conviction could also result in more expensive insurance costs and license suspension.

However, many people are falsely charged with DWI or don’t deserve such harsh punishments. If you need help challenging a DWI charge in Louisiana, you can hire our skilled DWI lawyer for excellent counsel and representation. We will investigate what happened to help you get the best results possible in your DWI case. Call today to learn more about how our criminal defense attorney can help you at 318-387-2776.

DWI Laws

Most states, including the Pelican State, have strict DWI laws to protect citizens from dangerous accidents involving intoxicated drivers. In Louisiana, state laws prohibit operating any vehicle, including cars, boats, aircraft, or any other vessel while intoxicated. Police officers commonly perform sobriety tests to determine whether a driver is under the influence of alcohol. Law enforcement may then arrest the individual and charge them with a DWI. If the person is convicted, they may receive fines, jail time, and a lifetime criminal record.

Penalties for DWI

DWI penalties are severe and are intended to discourage people from driving while under the influence and keep Louisiana roads safe. However, not everyone who is arrested for DWI is guilty. Please contact our attorneys immediately for help avoiding the strict penalties you do not deserve.

Misdemeanor DWI

For those convicted of a misdemeanor DWI, the penalties could include the following:

  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Mandatory use of an ignition interlock device

Felony DWI

Felony DWI occurs in more severe cases, such as when an intoxicated driver causes an accident resulting in injury or death. Multiple offenses may also lead to a felony conviction. A felony DWI conviction may incur the following penalties:

  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • Up to 30 years in prison, potentially more if someone was killed in the accident
  • License suspension
  • License revocation
  • Mandatory use of an ignition interlock device

How Can I Fight My DWI Charges?

Facing DWI charges can be terrifying. It may feel hopeless, especially if a police officer has reported a failed sobriety test. However, it is still possible to challenge the test results and get your charges lowered or dropped.

Challenging the Field Sobriety Test

One aspect of fighting DWI charges is to challenge the field sobriety test. The truth is that these tests are not always accurate. Many people get nervous when a law enforcement officer makes them go through the test, causing them to shake, stumble, and misunderstand the instructions. This can make it seem like you are intoxicated when you are not.
Our skilled attorneys can help investigate the details behind your sobriety test to prove you are not guilty of DWI.

Possible Defenses

Some possible defenses to fight a DWI charge include proving:

  • Mistaken identity or that you were not the person driving the car
  • Police officers lacked probable cause for pulling you over
  • Law enforcement officials violated your rights during the investigation
  • Breathalyzer test errors
  • Field sobriety test was not administered properly

Our experienced DWI attorney can review your case and develop a strong defense that gives you the best chance of avoiding a conviction. Call now for help to challenge your DWI charges.

Hardship License

Even if you are convicted of DWI, you can still protect your driving privileges by applying for a hardship license. Reach out to our law firm today to learn your rights regarding keeping your license and for help getting a hardship license so you can continue to drive.

Can Our DWI Defense Attorney Help You?

At Whiddon Criminal Defense, we are proud to defend clients mistakenly charged with DWI and those whose rights were violated by police officers during their arrest. We will fight for your rights and protect your freedom as we challenge your DWI charges. Call 318-387-2776 right away for excellent legal counsel and to schedule a free case evaluation.

Related Articles