What Is Disturbing The Peace In Louisiana?

Latest News

Recently, the Franklin Police Department charged an 11-year-old student with multiple charges after he had brought a firearm to school. The youth is now facing charges of illegally carrying a weapon, illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile, and disturbing the peace. The last charge is an interesting one, as it is a situation that many may not consider disorderly conduct. Below, our criminal defense attorney in Monroe explains what this charge entails.

Examples of Disturbing the Peace in Monroe

The student in the above story was charged with disturbing the peace because they caused public alarm. However, there are many other instances in which a person could find themselves being charged with disturbing the peace, otherwise called disorderly conduct. These are as follows:

  • Picketing or obstructing a funeral or a funeral procession
  • Speaking to another person using offensive language
  • Interrupting or interfering with a legal assembly
  • Hosting an illegal assembly
  • Public intoxication
  • Playing a radio in a car at a volume louder than 85 decibels
  • Obstructing public passage
  • Participating in a riot
  • Vagrancy, or falling asleep in a public place

The above are just a few of the most common examples of disorderly conduct. Essentially, any time a person interferes or disturbs the peaceful and lawful activities of others, they may be charged with disturbing the peace.

What are the Penalties for Disturbing the Peace?

Disorderly conduct is considered a misdemeanor in Monroe, and throughout Louisiana. Many people think misdemeanors are minor offenses, but a conviction will still come with serious penalties. A sentence in a specific case will depend on the circumstances surrounding the alleged offense. The most common penalties associated with this charge include:

  • Excessive car noise: A 30-day driver’s license suspension, a $200 fine and a maximum 30 days in jail if the offense occurred near a place of worship or hospital.
  • Obstructing public passage: A maximum of six months in jail and a maximum fine of $500.
  • Taking part in a riot: A maximum of six months in jail and a maximum fine of $500 if the offense did not involve bodily injuries or fatalities. A maximum of fine years in prison if the alleged rioting did cause bodily injury, and a maximum of 21 years if the act caused a fatality.
  • Picketing or obstructing a funeral: A maximum of six months in jail and a maximum fine of $500.
  • Vagrancy: A maximum of six months in jail and a maximum fine of $200.

In addition to the above penalties, anyone convicted of disturbing the peace will also have a criminal record that will follow them around for the rest of their life.

Our Criminal Defense Attorney in Monroe Can Help You Beat the Charges

There is no such thing as a minor criminal offense. If you or someone you love has been charged, our Monroe criminal defense attorney at Whiddon Criminal Defense can help you beat the charges. Call us now at 318-594-3592 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation and to learn more about how we can help.

Related Articles